License Suspension & Restoration in Houston, TX

Learn How to Get Your License Reinstated After a Suspension

In Texas, your driver's license can be suspended or revoked as an administrative penalty for driving while intoxicated (DWI). The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues license suspensions if they receive a notice from Texas law enforcement of the arrest.

According to the DPS, first-time DWI offenders may face the following administrative penalties:

  • Required alcohol education program
  • Driver's license suspension for maximum two years
  • Probation (if granted) which may include providing proof of alcohol education to DPS

The Texas DPS is required to notify individuals of their license suspension by way of letter. DPS will use the address that they have on file, so be sure that your address is current. To reinstate your driver's license after a suspension or revocation, you can go through the License Eligibility Division of the Texas DPS. This online service allows a person to pay suspension fees and track your eligibility status.

The Texas Criminal Defense Fact Guide

Includes Many Secrets To Beating Your Criminal Defense Charge.
Download Your Free Copy Now!

Houston TX Criminal Defense Fact Guide

Contesting a License Suspension in Houston, Texas

If you have been arrested for DWI, you have the ability to contest your license suspension. You can request an administrative hearing with DPS, however you only have 15 days to request this hearing. If you fail to request this hearing within 15 days, you forego their right to contest a suspension and your license will go into automatic suspension status.

The administrative license revocation (ALR) process in Texas has these steps:

  1. A driver is asked by a law enforcement official to submit to a chemical test (blood or breath) to measure blood alcohol content.
  2. If a driver fails this test, either by refusing to take it or blowing a .08 percent or higher, the driver will be served a notice of suspension. At this point, the driver has 15 days to request a hearing.
  3. Failure to request a hearing means that the person's license will be suspended 40 days after the notice was initially served.
  4. In some cases, the 40 days can be extended, but this is usually due to missing paperwork or unforeseen delays.
  5. After failing a chemical test, a law enforcement officer will confiscate a driver's license and issue them a temporary one.
  6. Administrative license suspension requires a driver to pay a $125 reinstatement fee if they wish to get their driving privileges restored after their suspension period is over.

In some cases, the Texas DPS allows individuals to appeal the administrative decision to suspend their license. A Houston DWI attorney from The Law Offices of Ned Barnett can accompany you to either the administrative license suspension hearing or your suspension/revocation appeal. We are prepared to fight for Houston residents who are facing license suspension, and can also assist clients with getting their driving privileges reinstated after a suspension or revocation.

Contacting a Houston DWI Lawyer for License Suspension or Reinstatement

Are you looking for a DWI attorney in Houston who can help you with your license suspension? Are you looking for a lawyer who can assist with reinstatement after a Houston suspension or revocation? Attorney Ned Barnett, can fight for you.

Losing your right to drive can be devastating. It can harm your ability to commute to work, run errands, take your children to and from school, and more. If there is a way you can preserve or restore you driving privileges, my firm can help you find it. Receive an evaluation of your case by contacting a Houston DWI attorney from The Law Offices of Ned Barnett today.

Helpful Videos

Click Here To Browse Our Video Library.

Watch Here

Ask Ned A Question

Send Us Your Questions. It's Free!

Get Started Now

The Texas Criminal Defense Fact Guide

Download Your Copy Today!

Download Now