Houston DWI Attorney
If a law enforcement officer has a reasonable suspicion that a person is operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, they have the right to make a traffic stop. Immediately, the officer will check the state of the driver and look for signs of intoxication such as slurred speech, the smell of alcohol, speaking too loudly, open alcohol containers in the vehicle, and other signs of impairment that they are trained to identify. The officer will usually request that the driver perform a series of standardized field sobriety tests. These tests consist of confusing mental and physical tasks that can be very difficult for a scared citizen. Your destiny is totally in the hands of the police officer at this point.
According to an article by the Houston Chronicle;
Harris County has the highest rate of alcohol-related traffic deaths among the nation's most populous counties, researchers say, and a series of horrific crashes blamed on drunken drivers in recent days seems to back the claim.
Drunk Driving Offenses in Houston, Texas
For further testing, the officer can request a breath or blood test to check the driver's alcohol level. Refusal to take the test can result in an automatic driver's license suspension. If, however, the testing is done and the blood alcohol level is measured at 0.08% or higher, then the driver is deemed legally intoxicated and too drunk to operate a motor vehicle. The driver may then be arrested and charged with
DWI is a serious criminal offense and it is important to contact a Houston criminal defense attorney for legal advice and assistance following an arrest. My firm, The Law Offices of Ned Barnett, is experienced in defending criminal cases and has a successful record in defending clients faced with serious DWI charges, including underage DWI,
felony DWI, intoxicated
intoxicated manslaughter. I, Attorney Ned Barnett, have developed a reputation throughout the Houston area and am Board Certified in criminal law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
New DWI Statute: Increased Penalties for 0.15% BAC
According to the updated DWI statute, §49,04(d), should a driver be found operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over 0.15%, they could face even more elevated criminal charges. Prior to the update in this statute, this act was classified as a Class B misdemeanor. Now, however, it has been enhanced to a Class A misdemeanor and includes criminal penalties that involve incarceration between 180 days and a year, along with a monetary fine that ranges between $2000 and $4000.
Houston Lawyer for DWI Defense
Drunk driving is a serious offense in Texas and the penalties can be harsh. Common penalties can include jail time, fines, annual surcharges, probation, driver's license suspension, installation of the
ignition interlock device and alcohol abuse programs. A defense attorney knowledgeable in all aspects of the law concerning DWIs can help during the entire DWI process, from the
ALR hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety to the arraignment and during all other steps in the legal proceedings.
My goal in defending a DWI case is helping clients achieve the best possible outcome. I know how to challenge DWI evidence and will do everything possible to help you obtain the just resolution that you deserve. These possibilities include having the charges dismissed, getting a not guilty verdict, or getting the DWI charges reduced to a lesser charge. Make an appointment today for a consultation.
Contact our firm
to speak with a Houston DWI lawyer following an arrest for a DWI to get legal help with the defense process.
To learn more about this type of charge and how my firm can help, please visit my site dedicated exclusively to Houston DWI defense.